Our vision-high school journalism matters more than ever.

The Flint Hills Publication Workshop, in cooperation with the A.Q Miller School of Journalism at K-State, knows that high school journalism matters in our state. We believe in giving an opportunity to all high school journalists to be a part of our summer experience in Kedzie Hall.


What scholarships do we offer?

Through the generosity of the A.Q Miller School of Journalism, The Collegian Media Group will be offering six full-ride student scholarships to our journalism workshop, July 14-16, 2019, to cover tuition, room and board and food throughout your stay at the Flint Hills Publication Workshop.


Two 1st Generation Student Scholarship

Our 1st generation student scholarship are aimed at high school sophomores and juniors who will be the first in their family to attend a college/university in the foreseeable future.


Two Diversity Scholarship

This specific scholarship promotes equal journalistic opportunities for minority students; this includes race, cultural background and sexual orientation.


Two Need-Based Scholarship

We at the Collegian Media Group believe that all student journalists should have the ability to better themselves professionally through our summer journalism camp, and this scholarship targets students whose families have experienced financial hardships in the past year or two.


What do I need to apply?


Here are the requirements to apply for any of our scholarships.


Personal Statement/Journalism Goals Essay


Why is journalism important to you? How will journalism be a part of your academic future? This portion of the application is crucial when awarding each scholarship. Please describe your life and personal circumstances that allow you to qualify for one of the above scholarship opportunities. It should be typed, written in full sentences and be under 750 words.


Letter of Recommendation


Please include one letter from your high school media/journalism adviser. This could also come from a language arts teacher at your school. The deadline is May 18th, 2019. It can be delivered by email to Spencer O’ or mailed by Friday, May 17th to:


Collegian Media Group

103 Kedzie Hall

828 Mid-Campus Drive North

Manhattan, KS 66506


Where do I apply?


The online application can be found here

This slideshow requires JavaScript.